29

 

“A revolt, huh, just what is the Duke thinking.”

Murmured Leon-sama.
It was probably a shock to him.
That they even came as far as to enter his room.

“Sorry, Leon. I never thought he would do even such a thing. When I noticed it was already too late. They likely also started a fight over where the King and Queen are ..”

“What? Where Father and Mother are? What is the guard doing?”

“This had been planned since a while ago, so it seems like there quite a number of Father’s subordinates have infiltrated the castle.”

Hm?
Even if that was the case wasn’t the defense still too shabby?
No matter how many could have infiltrated, would it really go that well, I wonder.
Honestly, I don’t know about the King but there is no way that Rachel-sama would overlook something like this.
Her intelligence corps is excellent.
Well, not like many people know about that.
But however that might be, if we stay here soldiers from the revolt might come again.

“Leon-sama, if we remain here more soldiers might be coming. What will you do? Escape the castle? Or ..”

“I want to save Father and Mother. It might be difficult but even if I run here, if they are made into hostages it’s all the same.”

Hearing those words I naturally broke out into a smile.
If there was someone who would run away at this point I’d gladly be the first in line to throw them out myself.

“Acknowledged. Leon-sama, I will absolutely protect you.”

“Ririina .. I’m glad about your feelings but that’s probably a line the guy should be saying, don’t you think.”

“Pu–”
Listening to our exchange Aren-sama exhaled.

“Haha, sorry for laughing. I just thought Ririina-sama hasn’t changed at all.”

Haven’t changed? Had we met somewhere before?
I’m afraid to say I don’t remember it at all.
Seeing that I was troubled over it Aren-sama told me.

“We have met once before. You had saved the lifes of me, my sister and mother. I really have nothing but feelings of gratitude for Ririina-sama. If possible, instead of a time like this, I had wanted to properly express my gratitude to you, but …”

Saved their lifes .. it is?
So then it would be related to my monster hunts back in the territory?
I didn’t act violently since coming to the capital, after all, so affecting people’s lifes and deaths I shouldn’t have done. (1)
Leon-sama reacted towards Aren-sama’s words.

“Aren, I hadn’t heard anything about you having met Ririina before.”

“Yeah, ’cause I didn’t tell you.”

I thought so since a little while ago but the two speak rather casually with each other.
They must be on good terms.
Aren-sama took a deep breath and said, directed at me.

“Ririina-sama, I apologize for talking about this at such a time, but could I have you hear me out please?” [1]

“I don’t know what you want to say, but as long as you make it short. Rachel-sama will be present so it’s surely alright, but I am still worried.”

“Yes, thank you very much. The truth is, I was the one who came up with the proposal to break off the engagement.”

I see.
The one Brother said had instigated it was Aren-sama.

“At first I was ordered to by Father. That is, to help make Anjiu become closer to Leon. He really intended to make Anjiu Leon’s wife. I thought that would be difficult since I knew from when we first met that Leon was bad with woman. However, Father declared that it was Anjiu’s fault that Leon wasn’t showing any interest in her and scolded her. That’s why I met Leon dressed up as a woman. Father didn’t realize that I was pretending to be Anjiu and was glad about us getting along.”

So the Duke wanted to turn Anjiu-sama into the proper Queen, huh.
Come to think of it, the Duke would make a displeased face when we came across each other in the castle.
That’s what it was about.

“Maa, this is one of the reasons, but there is still one more. That is, my very own selfishness. I wanted Ririina-sama to be free. That’s why, while I tempted Leon to declare a breaking off the engagement in order to test your affection, in truth because I knew of the attitude Leon had towards Ririina-sama I wanted to throw open those bindings that were the engagement for you. I really apologize for acting on my own accord!”

In that case, Aren-sama tried to realize the cancellation of the engagement for my sake?
Merely because I saved him once?

“Oi .. Aren.”

Uwah!
For some reason there was an incredibly low voice calling out Aren-sama.
Er, that’s Leon-sama.

“What is it? Leon.”

“‘What?’ ain’t what you got to say, is it? What is the meaning of this! Did you bring up that topic with me in order to truly break off our engagement?”

“Yep, that’s right. Just to make this clear but I properly said this in the begining, didn’t I? What would happen if you declared that. Moreover, even you, in truth, already knew, didn’t you? That at this rate even if you were to marry Ririina-sama it wouldn’t go well. Since we’re talking about Ririina-sam I am sure she would have performed her role as a Queen splendidly. But the relationship Leon wished to have with her wasn’t that, was it?”

” .. . Aah, that’s true.”

Somehow .. what should I do.
It’s difficult to interject them.
Still, it won’t do to have this sort of talk forever here.

“Yoshi! This talk ends here. Ririina-sama, I’m sorry for taking up so much time. Now, let’s go save them.”

Aren-sama cheerfully addressed me thus.
It seems he was trying to change the current mood for us.
That’s right, let’s go finish things. All sorts of.

 

 

Next Chapter

Prev Chapter

 

Translator’s notes

So, who correctly realised the identidy of the narrator of ???’s dream? Personally, the moment it became clear that he wasn’t the one attacking Ririina and Leon I grasped my head thinking ‘Arg, damn it, so obvious’ while lamenting that I didn’t notice earlier. In fact, every since Anjiu (Aren) last appeared and stiffled her laughs at Leon I realised that the twins were surely without ill intentions altogether. However, because reading Big Sister in ??? dream instead of Twin sister I didn’t make the connection until this chapter for whatever reason.
Also, I noticed while translating – lot of the words Aren uses in my translations are what I might be using for Chris as well. In the raws they both speak rather casually in a way, however Aren sounds a lot more .. proper I guess. Much more straightforward, and especially to Ririina much more polite. He’s got a really high opinion of her, after all.

[1] Aren is talking casually to Leon, but politely with Ririina.

(1) She’s talking about since she first came to the capital, not the trip a few days ago. Essentially, she hadn’t hunted monters in many years. Thinking of .. she’s still far stronger than properly trained warriors despite that. Imagine if she had spent her whole childhood and teenage years in the territory.

20 thoughts on “29

  1. The only good thing to come of this, was that clarity of feelings was established for Riri towards the Prince, he should be aware now that she holds no feelings for him, although, had he worked hard and offered her his heart, was open and caring towards her, feelings couldve developed between them, perhaps not to the depth he held for her, but love can grow, or wane over time, but if he was dedicated to loving her, and showing her his feelings, then they couldve had a good marriage, but he was too greedy.

    He couldnt want for that love to grow, he wanted it then and now, he hoped, based on nothing, that she would fall for him, or have some feelings that would reveal themselves if she felt her position was in danger, but of course this only confirmed her true feelings. I feel a little less grossed out by the Prince, but hes far from worthy of being her husband, if he really wants to take this on, then he needs to grow a pair and fight for it.

    Like

    • This is closer to the reality of what would happen if one of those slapstick comedy romance stories were real. All those half-baked plans for getting her to fall for you, that tend to end in her getting injured, doused in water (homemade suspension bridge failed), and stranded or surrounded by delinquents, don’t actually lead to romance.

      Like

    • Aren’s totally gonna try to become her husband and fight for her affections along with Leon and Chris now. WATCH. XD

      That said…I’m glad that the Prince finally had balls of SOME SORT and was able to actually TALK with Riri about this…even if it DID end up exactly how he and everyone else expected.

      I mean, as someone else said above…if he had actually TRIED to get closer to her, instead of the way he acted…I’m sure things would’ve ended up very differently, and he wouldn’t have even NEEDED to try to make her jealous (and then have it backfire tremendously, heh). =x

      Either way, the Prince definitely doesn’t deserve her. =x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Eh, I still feel it’s the Prince’s fault for not making more effort into earning some of Ririina’s heart; after all, he ignored her during the balls, he didn’t eat her sweets (although it probably was more out of his own kind of caring; ie, “I don’t want to eat her sweets because it’s a rare gift from her”), and he’s failed to even make a token attempt to isolate her and talk to her a little, even if it’s just stilted small-talk.

    Like

    • not really…it’s more like a bunch of dudes being attracted, to varying degrees, to a very strong chick (both in character and body) and she really doesn’t care much about them either way
      building a harem sounds like it’s either done a) actively: character getting his/her trophies (mostly seen in xianxia mc’s, eg: yun che from ATG) or b) passively: mostly jap novel beta males who are indecisive AF or dense AF, or both
      here ririina may be a bit dense, but is by no means indecisive, and misunderstandings only go so far, since the author does away with them before they get stale (eg: chris the trap and leon’s feelings for ririina)
      so far this novel, with its many limitations, feels like a breath of fresh air in this regard and is extremely enjoyable

      TLDR: i disagree

      Like

  3. There were people who realized it was Aren’s scheme to free her in gratitude for saving her. To think that was right! I am amazed, guys!

    Like

  4. thanks!
    kyaaa! Good job, aren! no one else would have done what you did! excellent! you saved ririna, my friend! you’re a hero! -two thumbs up to aren- literally no one else would have done such a thing, i say. ohh, so it was aren who was in that extra, huh.

    Like

  5. Well, its as I expected, the foreshadowing was there for this. Its good that Leon at least puts Ririina’s happiness over his own and went along with the engagement nullification. Honestly kinda like Leon and Aren for this, since they are putting Ririina first, especially Leon since he already had her in some sense. Comparatively, Chris seems to like toying with Ririina for his own ends. He seems to have been pretty aware of what was going on this whole time, but kept mum to string Ririina along. That sort of person pairs well with someone like Bakarina or Bakamille, who are pretty clueless and have a penchant to get themselves into trouble. Ririina, however, is a strong and capable person, and I feel like a manipulative secretive type would insult her intelligence.

    Like

  6. Altough in that ??? dream chapter i though it was anju, i did not think it was actually the male twin/sibling. Plot twist was good, thanks for the chapter!

    Like

  7. Thanks for the chapter!
    Seems like MC is unknowingly creating quite the big reverse harem. Just a guess but I’d say Aren was the unknown narrator in Idle Talk 2 between chapters 14 and 15 considering his desire to have MC free. Hope he and his sister don’t get into too much trouble due to their idiot father, although what happened to the mother since MC saved her? Hopefully the rebellion’s members are mostly in the castle so MC and her mother can clean them all up. Duke is an idiot for underestimating them and a thankless bastard for holding MC’s life so lightly considering she saved his wife and kids without seeking any remuneration.

    Like

Leave a comment