24

 

When we returned to the Mansion Chris came out to greet us.
No well, this is my house, you know ..
You really have made yourself perfectly at home, haven’t you.

It seemed Brother hadn’t returned yet.
I’m sure his wild instinct must have been at work there, the one watching out for Mother’s fist of fury.

On that note I do have something I’m curious about, but as expected I can’t just talk alone with Chris-sama. (1)
For what it’s worth I am Leon-sama’s fiancee, after all .. well, for what it’s worth.
If Brother was here I could just ask him while drinking tea together.
I was curious about it but for now I returned to my room once.

When I returned to my room Sana prepared some tea for me.
As I drank the tea I calmed down.
At that Sana talked to me.

“Ririina-sama. Ano, how did the talk turn out?”

Sana made a very worried expression.
But true, she has been concerned for me all this time after all.

“Let’s see .. I did talk with Leon-sama but as always my words didn’t reach him at all. Also, Anjiu-sama was with him. Rather, talking things out with Anjiu-sama might be the faster option. Partway through Big Brother and Chris-sama barged in on us and in the end today ended with things being ambiguous.”

“That must .. have been quite an ordeal. But just what is Prince Leon thinking, I wonder.”

“You tell me~ I want to know the most. At this rate it might be easier to leave it to the King and my parents, but even if it was provisionally, we were engaged for several years. If possible, at least at the very end, I want to properly talk things out with him.”

“.. I suppose so. From his perspective this must be really quite the ironic result, for you to give it your all to make him talk to you at this point.”

Sana came to some sort of understanding by herself while nodding repeatedly.
Even I tried to become friendly with him in the past by making conversation with him, I’ll have you know.

“Which reminds me, Sana, could you please let me know when Big Brother returns home? I have something I want to ask him. If possible I would like to ask Chris-sama as well but that’s not going to happen without Big Brother present.”

“I understand. I will report to you immediately upon Ricardo-sama’s return. And if Chris-sama may have to talk with you it would be better to do that after he has returned. It may be in this house but it still wouldn’t be proper for you two to be alone with each other.”

“That’s how it is. Then I’ll leave it you. .. oh, right. After Mother has found him Brother will probably .. If that happens it would become impossible to talk to him, so in that case we should gently leave him be. In that case I will talk to him when the chance appears from tomorrow onward.”

Saying so Sana assented ‘In that case today would seem impossible, indeed’.
Yep, as I thought.
Since it shouldn’t be possible for him to escape from Mother.

— a few hours later

Screams echoed throughout the inside of the mansion.
.. It would seem that Mother’s education has begun.
Brother mine, there is nothing I can do for you.
Except for praying that you’ll be in a state to talk tomorrow.

Ultimately the day ended without me talking to Brother and Chris-sama.

— the following day

Sana came in the morning stating that Ricardo had asked me to come to his room.
Ara, that’s convenient.
I headed for his room right away.

Entering his room there was what was left of Brother after the education.

“Big Brother, good morning. And is your body alright?”

“Aah, Ririina, morning. As for my body .. it’s as you see. Say, how come our Mother can do this much to the active commanding officer of the chivalric order? It’s absolutely strange.”

It seems Brother had doubts about Mother’s strength.
No, it’s not strange at all, is it.
She’s the daughter of those Grandparents, you know. The only daugther of those people that would nearly crush me by accident while hugging me.

“By the way, Big Brother, you had some business with me?”

“Oh, yeah, right. It’s become the issue of breaking up your engagement but Ririina, can’t you reconsider that, after all? I think no one beside you would work out for Prince Leon.”

“Big Brother, you mean ..”

Just why is it that Brother wants to undo the cancellation of our engagement this much?
I’m troubled because I don’t know his reasons.
Since this is a rare chance let’s try asking.

“Big Brother, why is it that you want to undo the issue of the breaking off the engagement to this extend? In Anjiu-sama Leon-sama has found a person he is in truly in love with, you know. He is sure to become much happier with Anjiu-sama then with me who has been decided his fiancee by our families.”

Upon my words Brother made a grimace.
And with an unusually serious look he answered thus:

“Ririina you .. you don’t understand. Have you really been looking at Prince Leon properly? It’s true that it is an engagement that had been decided for you by our families but spending all this time together with Leon-sama so far, did you really not feel anything? I know you have been doing your best to keep up with the Queen training. But even still, wasn’t it also important to build your relationship with Prince Leon?”

Taking a short break the final thing he said:

“Ririina, you might not believe me, but this I will state clearly. The one Prince Leon likes, no, the one he loves is you, Ririina. That hasn’t changed a bit ever since you two got engaged. The fact that he brought up the matter of breaking off your engagement this time around was a complete failure on his part. On this matter I, too, had advised him against it. But, I earnestly want you to believe. That those are Prince Leon’s feelings.”

.. Leon-sama’s feeling?
Leon-sama likes .. me?
No, but then, what was all of this up until now about?
I fell into confusion upon Brother’s words.

Konkon
At that moment a knock resounded from the door of the room.

 

 

Next Chapter

Prev Chapter

 

Translator’s notes

 

(1) As in, it would be improper for a lady to be alone in a room with a man that is not related to her. Her awareness as a proper lady is quite good except when she’s being seduced by the prospect of hunting and similar.

32 thoughts on “24

  1. Well, no.

    I mean honestly, the Prince is so stupid it amazes he manages to walk and breathe at the same time.

    She’s never felt anything for him except obligation, it would be the height of stupidity to keep the engagement.

    Frankly, if he was the king to be I’d flee the country.

    Liked by 8 people

    • Well, that’s obviously why the Queen’s training is so strict, he can’t be left in charge. While on the subject, do we know if he was breathing while daydreaming there, he was standing stone still, after all?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. they mother should have hit the brother so he stays unconsious until the whole affair was over!
    “he loves you”
    But she doesn´t love him. Why confuse the happy pure hearted girl that only want to hunt monsters, with the feeling of an idiot and ruining her life so the stupid prince can have a peace of mind.
    but still, thanks for the Chapters xD

    Liked by 8 people

  3. i feel baka ouji is way to stupid😂😂😂, still act arrogant to her and didn’t got the hint😂. tell her loving someone else but actualy loves her😂. is baka ouji is tsundere male type?😂😂😂

    btw, thx for chapter😊😄😆. waiting for the next chapter~ always waiting until the death 😄😄😄

    Like

  4. Sorry, brother dearest, but it’s not Ririina’s fault at all that she didn’t develop a proper relationship with the baka ouji…that’s all his fault for running away like an idiot everytime she tried to start a conversation with him. If anything, Ririina is practically an angel for not hating him after all this. I feel sorry for the kingdom having such an idiot as the future king.

    Geez, now I know what Ririina’s father feels like when he calls the prince an idiot all the time. And to think, the prince is 20 yet he acts like this!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I officially dislike the brother. He would sacrifice her happiness for that unworthy prince!
    He dates to pin the blame on her? It’s baka ouji’s fault. All those years, he didn’t try to fix her impression of him at all! He’s also too proud and refuses to be honest with her, and he doesn’t even apppear to realize he SHOULD apologize to her, both for his stupid actions recently AND for causing her to sacrifice her time in all the thankless training. He absolutely is a terrible choice for a husband!
    Ririina, please don’t let go of your chance to break the engagement! Even Chris is a better choice, at least she’d have more freedom because he’s not the future king, even if he’s a bit cunnning.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Now i’m craving to know what the baka prince really thinking. Well if he cannot get Ririina, it’s better for Leon to not have any relationship with women and adopt a boy to be the next heir.

    Like

  7. Brother, what are you talking about? “Spending all this time together with Leon-sama so far”, “wasn’t it also important to build your relationship with Prince Leon”????

    What time together? All the years she came to the palace every day, the times she actually “spent time with him” can be numbered on one hand!!! And she has tried to build her relationship with him!!!! She has started some conversations with him, but he wouldn’t talk to her!!!

    And how the heck that nut-case thought that might make her fall in love with him is beyond me -_-.
    I mean, I get it, you’re too shy to talk to her. But why would you think she’s in love with you?
    And finally work up the nerve to talk to her just to try to make her jealous and confess her love for you! It’s obvious she doesn’t like you! Why would she? Your cowardly appearance stalking her creepily must have attracted her? And he thought his hiding techniques didn’t give him away anyway -_-

    Like

  8. thanks!
    ricardo! ricardo you little…! i will personally strangle you! how dare you! how…dare…you….!? you think leon’s the one who deserves ririna?! don’t make me laugh! leon can go and roll away! not now, not ever, will he be deserving of ririna!

    Like

  9. I don’t know why everyone is so angry at Ricardo. Don’t forget that he is also the prince’s friend. There is nothing wrong with him wanting is beloved sister marry his best friend. In his mind, this is for the best, since the prince loves his sister, and thus would (after getting over his crippling problem of running away) cherish her. Also, Ririna wants to have a conversation with the prince before everything is settled, even if she just wants to break off the engagement. Besides, why should she just leave without knowing everything? It is also to her benefit to know these things, so she can make a judgment with all the facts. Not only that, it would be a good experience for her. Frankly her denseness is not only extremely unbelievable, it is also unhealthy. She need to know the signs of when someone is her ally, or lying and just trying to use her. If she can’t tell the obvious signs that someone likes her, then her observation skills are terrible. The prince didn’t just ran away from her, he also kept her gift, which meant it was too precious to eat or throw away. Yet in her mind she twisted around to something completely different. Not only that, when the prince asked her questions about how she felt, whether or not if she was jealous, and his reaction to her answer, his feelings are made obvious. The fact that she cannot see these obvious signs, means that everyone is just overprotecting her, which is not good for her. She should make the judgment of whether or not she should keep with the engagement after knowing what everyone else knows, and that is that the prince is actually in love with her.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, I can agree that Ririina doesn’t take feelings of romance into consideration, but in this situation I can’t blame her. At the start the prince did set her up to at best think of him as a bully so events like the gift and the current talk that happened far later would already be seen under the assumption that he doesn’t like her. If you look at it like that, she has no reason to consider affection as a possible motivation.
      I do agree that it only makes sense for Ricardo to finally spill everything he knows so that she is informed as much as possible.

      Like

      • The thing is, no one seems to have said that to her. Her maid almost spilled it before being interrupted by Ricardo in the early chapters. They all knew but her. Why did no one say anything? In all those years, did no one try to encourage Ririina, who thought her future husband dislike her, with the truth of the prince’s feelings? If anything, it is everyone else’s fault that she had to suffer all those years. The prince had a trauma that wasn’t properly dealt with, and no one seem to let Ririina make any decisions of her own.

        But whatever, I’m just glad someone told her. So she can grow from making a harder choice than before.

        Liked by 2 people

  10. What idiots, bordering on malice. Ricardo’s a huge asshole for playing wingman to the prince for so long. Does he honestly think that, based on the prince’s absolute cowardice and inability to even consider the feelings of Ririna, he would make a good husband for her? Is he trying to protect the prince from that Anjiu girl? Just let her sink her villainous claws into that worthless prince and let him destroy himself. That brother is horrible human being.

    Like

  11. Ahhh this situation is really giving me a headache. I’m trying to be as understanding as I can. But most of al, I want to defend Ririina because she has little fault in this. Ririina is not completely dense. She’s a very simple character with a straightforward view on things. She draws conclusion to what she sees (Prince Leon’s actions , the gifts, the sweets left to rot, and accompaniment in social events, the injury) and does not overthink so much, thus her conclusion that Prince might have dislike her. Being like this may be a disadvantage in the future, as observation and sensitivity is important, however when it comes to ways of the Heart, Prince Leon should have also walked to the simpliest path.

    1) The gifts were wonderful but it would have been better if he personally gave it. Face-to-face interaction is after all the best way. If he isn’t able to come, he could add a simple letter with it.
    2) The sweets Ririina decided to share. His intentions were not bad as he cherished them. But it would have been more proper if he ate it with a smile and invite her to eat with him next time (+1 for bonding moment)
    3) The social events. While I understand the Prince needs to greet every subject, he must never forget his fiancé. I remember my friend telling me one time that she prefers the guy courting her to bring her around and introduce her as the love of his life.
    4) The injury. Why on earth would you run???????? Because your shy? Because you ‘re nervous? Boy I’d rather have you sit there quietly with red ears and properly thank her while blushing. Now THAT is cute.

    You cannot always use his shy disposition as reason for his actions. Also, I feel Anjiu is quite a bad influence for him. To help him scheme like this. Gosh. Prince Leon, you are better than that! As for Ririina, everyone should have just told her the Prince’s real intentions in the first place. It was mentioned before that she was truly sincere with her obligation and was willing to develop a good relationship with Prince. But sh*t happened and now she’s stuck in the middle so confused as heck. Help her grow out and teach her to pay more attention to her surroundings. If I was living in their circle, it would have been painful for me to watch everything. I hope the conflict is resolved quickly as dwelling on this engagement may turn out to be a drag. I am more excited to see Ririina turn to a great lady.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment